Statuses

D137: Clouded Movements

In Black & White, Uncategorized on May 17, 2010 by Eric Kunimura Tagged: , , , , ,

Found that the clouds had a really great texture today so I experimented with long exposure to try and create wispy clouds. I shot this at twilight while I hand-held a 4 stop ND filter over the lens. The filter that I had in my bag was for a different lens than the wide angle lens I wanted to use for this shot. I didn’t capture exactly what I wanted to but I was able to capture some cloud motion.

Read: Stable Mate – Popular Photography, June 2010

Viewed: Portfolio of Art Wolfe

Watched: Shutters & Shutter Speeds at CreativeLive

7 Responses to “D137: Clouded Movements”

  1. Nice perspective. It kind of gives the feeling that the clouds are in motion.

    I am assuming you used the ND filter to bring down the light and trick the camera (?)

    • Yes, I used the ND to cut light so that I could slow the shutter speed down to the 30sec range. This was shot around f/20 at ISO 100 if I remember correctly. This was the first time I’ve used a ND.

  2. I like the way the curves seem mirrored. Great sky too.

  3. Very nicely done. I’ve found ND filters can be great for bumping up the ISO to add some texture/grain to BW photos.

    Do you mind if I ask what camera/lens you used?

    Thanks!
    -david

  4. very ominous looking. I like the effect and I think that a really super wide angle shot would suit this really well and have a more expansive feel.

Leave a Reply

