Statuses

D117: Desert Star

In Black & White, Uncategorized on April 27, 2010 by Eric Kunimura Tagged: , , , ,

I’ve really come to love black & white prints after seeing an Ansel Adams exhibit a few months ago. Since then I’ve read many articles on black & white techniques.

Here’s a technique that I haven’t read about but is something that I do to almost every black & white image I make. I add a subtle touch of sepia tone to warm the image and take that cold grey feeling away. After I’ve process the image to black & white and flatten the layers, I apply a sepia filter of 10%-20% density over the image. I typically apply greater sepia density if it’s an image of people or other living things. I apply approximately 10% sepia density to subjects like architecture or other static subjects. This is just a rule of thumb and you should add sepia filter to achieve the feel you want.

Click image for larger view

Read: Field Vision, Popular Photography – May 2010

Viewed: Flickr photostream of Canadian photographer Kit Hung.

6 Responses to “D117: Desert Star”

  1. This is a gorgeous image and great tip!

  2. Beautiful image! That is an interesting tip. You are almost doing a split tone, but not going so far as to rally notice it. Great idea!

  3. I do the same thing. I just hate the cold blue tones of b/w. This is a great image.

  4. I like the details and monochrome effect on the cacti.

  5. Gorgeous, gorgeous photo. And a great tip.

  6. interesting black and white conversion, I like that it is on the darker side – it really adds impact

Leave a Reply

