Articles

D160: Speeding Along

In Uncategorized on June 10, 2010 by Eric Kunimura Tagged: , , ,

Today’s Tasra365 ThemeThursday subject is Motion.

This was one of two ideas I had for today. Originally I wanted to shoot my 7yr old son spinning around on a playground merry-go-round. Unfortunately I was unable to find one in what seems like 50 parks in a 5 mile radius of my home. My guess is that they’re considered too dangerous these days and just a law suit waiting to happen.

Am I getting to an age where I reminisce about what it used to be like when I was a kid? Now I sure didn’t have to walk 10 miles up hill (both ways) in the snow to go to school but I sure didn’t have an iPod either. Have we as a society become so afraid of what “might” happen that we raise our children with kid gloves? Are we so paranoid that we hesitate to let our children play outside without adult supervision? Are we subjecting our children to a life of over-achievement in multiple disciplines of organized sports, while saying to ourselves that they’re “having fun” and that it’s “good” for them?

We should be raising our children to be free-thinkers. To not be afraid to be themselves. To not be brainwashed into thinking that money and material items equal success. For me the question is how do we reverse the damage which our parents instilled into our generation? How do we teach our children this when we don’t know how to do it for ourselves? Stop and imagine how free you felt when you were a child riding that scooter (or bicycle), or simply running around the playground. When you could run without needing all the clutter of your iPod, bottled water, the best running shoes, and a stylish running outfit. Remember how free you felt?

Read: This is Why I Do What I Do – Scott Bourne, Photofocus. Great positive story on how sharing the work of others can change lives.

Viewed: Random images in various magazines on the news stand in my local book store. I often find myself breaking down the images I see on magazine covers. I try to figure out how the photographer got the shot. I guess you could call it a fun game or maybe even a sickness.

3 Responses to “D160: Speeding Along”

  1. Took me a second to figure out what this was. Don’t know how you did both at once without getting hurt.

  2. Slow shutter speed allowed me to walk next to it while holding the camera tight against the handle bars.

  3. Great post. Nice image.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

