Articles

D150: Happy Anniversary

In Uncategorized on June 1, 2010 by Eric Kunimura Tagged: , , , , ,

My wife and I celebrated our 8th wedding anniversary last night…Happy Anniversary to us! :)

Shot with a point-n-shoot. I’d forgotten how terrible the image quality is, even at ISO 400. I guess I’m so used to shooting without flash in low light with a fast lens that I forgot to use the flash with the p&s. It was very limiting to try to repair a jpg. I’m much more appreciative of RAW now.

Read: What’s The Subject of This Photograph? – Photofocus. I guessed correctly but what’s more important is how I arrived at my answer. I had to break-down the elements of the photo to find out what the true subject was. This is something I need to do more often before pressing the shutter.

Viewed: Images from Robert Vanelli.

6 Responses to “D150: Happy Anniversary”

  1. Happy Anniversary Eric!
    Looks like you have captured the moment – that’s all it matters at times. Something you can always come back and cherish.

  2. Happy Anniversary E!
    Looks like you celebrated in style.

  3. Hmmm. Your process is interesting…..breaking down the photo into elements to find the subject. I’m assuming you go through this before you shoot? I’m on day 4 of my own 365 project and to be honest I sometimes just shoot and hope that something pops out. Nice shot. Happy Anniversary.

    • I took a long time for me to get to a point where I think about the elements in my viewfinder and how they effect the story I want to tell. I’m still working at it though. That’s why I’m doing this 365 :) I started out the same way you are; shooting and hoping the image turned out nice. Stick with it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

